Daniel Avery and Alessandro Cortini collaborate on new album, Illusion Of Time

The LP, which has been in the works for several years, is out in March via Phantasy Sound.

Daniel Avery and Alessandro Cortini have made an album together.

Out March 27th via Erol Alkan’s Phantasy Sound label, Illusion Of Time has been several years in the making, with both artists initially contributing remotely. The ten-track LP was finally finished in 2018 when Avery toured with Nine Inch Nails, the band Cortini has been involved with since 2004.

“It was very much a shared process,” Avery says. “I would like to credit Alessandro with his belief that music has a life of its own, as well as the importance he places on the first take… That even something that may be considered out of step by some should be respected. Some of the tracks were borne simply out of a tiny synth part, or a bit of tape hiss that we had recorded. And that approach taught me a lot. It’s a record that’s been worked on hard, but not laboured over.”

“I was a big fan of Daniel’s, and his work always spoke to me in a certain way,” Cortini adds. “Then, when we started working together, it just clicked. It’s very hard to explain, but I can always hear the love in his work, and that is true on this record. After our first collaboration, we just kept sending each other music and maintaining that dialogue. Next thing you know, we’re sitting in a hotel room in New York and had finished the record in three hours.”

Watch the video for the title track.



01. Sun
02. Illusion Of Time
03. CC Pad
04. Space Channel
05. Inside The Ruins
06. At First Sight
07. Interrupted By The Cloud Of Light
08. Enter Exit
09. Water
10. Stills

Phantasy Sound will release Illusion Of Time on March 27th, 2020.

Photo credit: Steve Gullick & Emilie Elizabeth

Label: Phantasy Sound



More Stories
Kyle Hall The Shark
Kyle Hall’s new EP “The Shark” out now on Forget The Clock label